1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tsw 2 Upcoming 'rush Hour' Feature

Discussion in 'PC Discussion' started by londonmidland, Apr 11, 2021.

  1. matjamca

    matjamca Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Messages:
    3,376
    Likes Received:
    6,346
    Running express just from Gatwick to Victoria (non-stop) takes about 30 minutes.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  2. saltychipz#3569

    saltychipz#3569 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2021
    Messages:
    2,220
    Likes Received:
    1,443
    I watched some videos and yes it looks like a full GX run from London - Brighton takes 45-50 minutes
     
    • Like Like x 2
  3. vogelm10

    vogelm10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2020
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    This package is going to shut my complaints up for a bit on here. The London to Brighton line is great looking! Finally I can drive in London and see some actual city and not just tunnels!

    I really hope they do major graphics overhall on the Boston line, it looked super dated the video I saw.

    Haven't even thought about the German line....I just wish we'd get an East German line with some of the Hl signals. Ks and Hp are fun but I know them, I want to learn something new.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. james64

    james64 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2020
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    541
    If I remember correctly don't Gatwick Express also run some services through to Brighton? I'm assuming they only stop at Gatwick- how long do those journeys take? If I remember rightly the fast Southern services take a little longer than an hour, but those stop at more key stations like Clapham Junction and East Croydon, again, if I'm remembering it right. I haven't been on this line in a couple of years.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  5. Wtl

    Wtl New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    10
    OK guys so I just found out 3 new routes will be included in rush hour. I think there's still a little bowl of hope for DTG. One is from London to Brighton. One is from Boston to provedance and the final one is from bahnstrecke riesa to dresden.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  6. Wtl

    Wtl New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    10
    Unfortunately though, the new routes they are making have the same rolling stock we already have. Boston to provedance uses the one used in northeast corridor (don't know the name) the German route uses the BR442. And London to Brighton uses the 377 and 387. Ik the 387 is different, but its roughly the same, only with iron board looking seats, more tables and can go faster
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. matjamca

    matjamca Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Messages:
    3,376
    Likes Received:
    6,346
    Gatwick Express does serve Brighton. I’d expect it takes 15-20 minutes to get between Brighton and Gatwick, so around 45-50 minutes in total.
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 3
    • Like Like x 2
  8. vogelm10

    vogelm10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2020
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Since we don't have Amtrak here on TSW2 I'm actually super okay with it being recycled!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. volvolover1972

    volvolover1972 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2017
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    1,244
    The slow Southern services can take over an hour to run from London to Brighton
     
    • Like Like x 4
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  10. vogelm10

    vogelm10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2020
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Oooooh Hl signals!!!!! Yay! This is going to be awesome!!!

    With it being so cheap I am good paying 10 per new line and not having new equipment. It seems like a really smart way to justify paying an extra little bit for dlc locos later on. I just hate paying 30 for one route with all the same rolling stock. If that's going to be their system going forward I'd gladly pay for add on locos!
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2021
    • Like Like x 2
  11. tallboy7648

    tallboy7648 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2020
    Messages:
    4,054
    Likes Received:
    4,610
    Well some would probably use scenario planner to complete the journey on the 387
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. saltychipz#3569

    saltychipz#3569 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2021
    Messages:
    2,220
    Likes Received:
    1,443
    I’m not sure if it was recycled
     
  13. tallboy7648

    tallboy7648 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2020
    Messages:
    4,054
    Likes Received:
    4,610
    They do the same thing for the annual ts (railworks) update as well and it works like a charm. You get the update for free and if you want the 3 core routes for that cycle of the year you spend $24.99 if you dont own all three or just may be intrested in them
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2021
  14. tallboy7648

    tallboy7648 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2020
    Messages:
    4,054
    Likes Received:
    4,610
    Which shows dtg isn't exactly short on cash which some think is the case. For a small company like theirs, that's alot of money
     
  15. vogelm10

    vogelm10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2020
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    It's so cheap I feel like everyone will buy this.

    What I wonder is if we ever will get a dual country line in the future....I'd love some cross border routes.
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2021
    • Like Like x 2
  16. Cameron's Gaming

    Cameron's Gaming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    1,714
    Likes Received:
    2,320
    I think the model will be recycled but the implementation will have had to be redone - I'm no expert on American trains though.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  17. volvolover1972

    volvolover1972 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2017
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    1,244
    The reason they can afford to sell 3 routes for the price of one is because of anticipated sales. More people will buy rush hour than other individual DLCs because it’s cheaper. More buyers = more profit. They did the same with the base TSW 2020 and TSW2 packages. It’s also the reason loco DLC are 2/3 the price of routes. It’s not because more effort goes into it, it’s because less people will buy loco DLCs than route DLCs. Less buyers = less profit.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  18. longo239

    longo239 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2020
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    1,410
    Greta would be so pleased with all the recycling going on at DTG Towers now! :cool:
     
    • Like Like x 8
  19. Swisstrains

    Swisstrains Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2019
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    486
    Another question btw.: Has somebody goy any informations about the HBL stream this week?
    So the Raulfan TV hasn’t been uploaded yet and all we know is the Rush Hour stream tomorrow
     
  20. mrcharliemiggins2.0

    mrcharliemiggins2.0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2020
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    919
    Today is a Bank Holiday (Public Holiday) in the UK, so it won't be posted today. Tomorrow is also the Roadmap stream, not a Rush Hour stream.
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  21. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    3,176
    Likes Received:
    3,807
    I think they are off today.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  22. jolojonasgames

    jolojonasgames Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2020
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    3,078
    I think that's DTGs strategy on this one, generate massive sales, an possibily draw people into different kinds of gameplay (for example getting a German player interested in British 3rd rail EMUs), getting them more sales for normal DLC in the long run.


    I actually made three suggestions for those :).

    1. Dresden-neustadt - Děčín
    2. Luxembourg - Trier
    3. Hengelo - Osnabrück
    I think the first one in particular could be really fun.

     
    • Like Like x 2
  23. vogelm10

    vogelm10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2020
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Oh man.....the Czech signal system would be a beast to learn. I know it follows OssHD standards but that would be genuinely difficult without a guide!
     
    • Like Like x 2
  24. driverwoods#1787

    driverwoods#1787 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2021
    Messages:
    2,054
    Likes Received:
    1,237
    If they wanted 5 routes then Appenweier-Strasbourg together with Duisburg Oberhausen-Arnhem Railway. If DTG wanted Rush Hour features on those crossborder routes what will happen to those two routes is this. At Strasbourg Station Ter A11 to Offenburg goes first then ICE DB BR407 towards Frankfurt then the one behind it is another Ter A11 Offenburg and a BB370000 freight locomotive. For Duisburg Oberhausen-Arnhem Railway you probably get something like this HRR DB BR425 towards Hagen via Bochum & Witten proceeds first then a DB BR189 Iron Ore Train goes next followed by a Abellio NS ET25 train. If Main Spessart Bahn is owned a DB BR146 dosto Train will be behind an Abellio NS ET25. followed by a DB BR151 Iron Ore train that needs NS6400 locomotives at Emmerich towards Rotterdam.
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2021
  25. vogelm10

    vogelm10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2020
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Strasbourg would make my day...did a study abroad program there for a month.
     
  26. driverwoods#1787

    driverwoods#1787 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2021
    Messages:
    2,054
    Likes Received:
    1,237
    Have you been on the route I mentioned Appenweier-Strasbourg Railway. If so tell me how is the rush hour services like. For me I see it like a North America Style Rush Hour service.
     
  27. TheShotte

    TheShotte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2020
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    520
    Out of curiosity, I just looked at the wireframe. Dude that building is a joke. It's a straight textured box, none of the details have been modeled. Considering that this is right next to the player's camera as he drives through the station, that's pretty bad.
     
    • Like Like x 4
  28. Dinosbacsi

    Dinosbacsi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Messages:
    890
    Likes Received:
    1,635
    I'm sort of hoping for that as well. Not expecting it, but certainly hoping for it to be the case. It would be amazing if they fixed the ATC on LIRR and give it a proper timetable.
     
  29. TheShotte

    TheShotte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2020
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    520
    Because a picture says a thousand words:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    The building in question has material labeled "MI_WaitingRoomOld_01", and as you can see above, is 10 Triangles. The whole station as pictured is 3576 Tris, which for a large structure, is nothing. Granted, the canopies and platforms aren't included, but still. Also, I'm pretty sure it's straight out of TSXXXX, all they did was add some extra details (I saw extra beams under the canopy for example), but fundamentally, it looks like the same old structure as in TSXXXX. I didn't really verify, but I don't really need to as seen above.
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2021
    • Like Like x 3
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  30. SHINO BAZ

    SHINO BAZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Messages:
    1,366
    Likes Received:
    922
    So do you think theres any chance the amtrak metrolink cab car might also come with the ACS-64?
     
  31. jolojonasgames

    jolojonasgames Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2020
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    3,078
    If I were you, I wouldn't expect it, that way if there is a surprise, it will be a positive one. I didn't own NEC on TSW 2020, but would love this one to come with the cab car. I really hope DTG is feeling generous and can reuse the cab car from NEC without too much work.

    Maybe we'll get some answers on that in the roadmap stream after the announcement tomorrow, though I honestly don't expect them until we're closer to the release.
     
  32. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    4,567
    Likes Received:
    6,521
    That's gross revenue. Net revenue, i.e. profit, is a very different and much much smaller number
     
    • Like Like x 4
  33. Dinosbacsi

    Dinosbacsi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Messages:
    890
    Likes Received:
    1,635
    I've been told that the Amtrak cabcar doesn't run on this part of NEC in real life. So most likely no, it will not come for this route.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  34. Tank621

    Tank621 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    576
    Well, except you have to account for taxes, employee wages, the costs of running and maintaining an office, route research and development costs, licensing and a whole host of other costs I haven't even thought of. It's not as simple as 'here's a million pounds go have some fun.' Making games is really damned expensive.
     
    • Like Like x 6
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  35. ZeenozPlays

    ZeenozPlays Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2019
    Messages:
    1,957
    Likes Received:
    3,130
    How do trains turn at the South Boston Station then?
     
  36. saltychipz#3569

    saltychipz#3569 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2021
    Messages:
    2,220
    Likes Received:
    1,443
    Maybe the ACS-64 uncouples from the carriages then goes to the other end ?
     
  37. ZeenozPlays

    ZeenozPlays Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2019
    Messages:
    1,957
    Likes Received:
    3,130
    I'm not sure if that is possible at that station. It is a terminal station, with the tracks ending at the end of the platform.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  38. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    4,567
    Likes Received:
    6,521
    "At Boston South Station, the balloon track for turning trains faces the bumpers, and is on a branch that Amtrak normally only uses to get to its yards and shops. So, to turn a South Station train, you back all the way from the station, down the branch, around the loop, through the train washer, and back to the station!"

    You drive right by the turnaround loop on I-93.
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  39. saltychipz#3569

    saltychipz#3569 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2021
    Messages:
    2,220
    Likes Received:
    1,443
    Oh , not sure then
     
  40. ZeenozPlays

    ZeenozPlays Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2019
    Messages:
    1,957
    Likes Received:
    3,130
    Ah, seems like an interesting maneuver. Wonder if it'll be like this in-game.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  41. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    4,567
    Likes Received:
    6,521
    Well, HMA has depot-train wash runs.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  42. raildan

    raildan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    1,220
    Likes Received:
    2,094
    I mean, it kinda *has* to be, if you think about it- they can't just flip the trains around magically in service mode, after all, and they have to leave the station in the other direction *some*how
     
    • Like Like x 3
  43. stujoy

    stujoy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2019
    Messages:
    3,913
    Likes Received:
    9,595
    This is very interesting. I’m happy to see that DTG are keeping the polygon count down to ensure good performance, while still improving the textures used on any models that were also used on a previous version or the route, and adding elements where absolutely necessary. It makes perfect commercial sense and allows for longer routes to be produced at an acceptable price point. They produce excellent stuff.

    It’s a shame that people will dissect their work to such a degree to complain that buildings aren’t being modelled to higher standards, despite them actually looking perfectly fine for the product produced. Ideally, we would all love for DTG to spend much longer making ever more intricate station buildings and we wouldn’t mind paying £100 - £200 per route for all that extra work as we all have incredibly expensive and powerful gaming computers to render these high polygon structures quickly as we whizz through a station without lowering the frame-rate below 60 fps. We’re so incredibly rich.

    Actually I’ve changed my mind. If the unemployed experts at home can change a few textures for the current product on PC and claim godlike status, I’m sure a development company can do it as standard, even keeping within the tight commercial constraints and performance limits of all the platforms they develop for. Come on DTG, what do you think you are playing at? Ten triangles? How do you sleep at night?
     
    • Like Like x 10
  44. jolojonasgames

    jolojonasgames Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2020
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    3,078
    Sounds like a really fun service in timetable mode, I hope they add it. It could possibily also be used in a scenario.
     
  45. PegasusLeosRailwayFanatix

    PegasusLeosRailwayFanatix Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2020
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    59
    So Far the Dovetail Team haven't said anything about the leak so most likely its tomorrow, They probably don't know what to say to us
     
    • Like Like x 1
  46. Crosstie

    Crosstie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    2,764
    Yes, I believe that's the way it's done. Not under their own power though, I would think, unless catenery has been installed recently.
    That would be a fun movement to watch, if it's modeled.
     
  47. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    4,567
    Likes Received:
    6,521
    What can they say? They can't admit it's true before tomorrow, and if they were going to call it a hoax they would have already.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  48. SHINO BAZ

    SHINO BAZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Messages:
    1,366
    Likes Received:
    922
    F40 CAT-3 Passenger/Commuter train if i remember correctly doesn't that train use a cab car?

    I guess the F40 CAT-3 Could also be used to move the ACS 64 around unelectified sections of track.
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2021
  49. jolojonasgames

    jolojonasgames Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2020
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    3,078
    From a quick look on Google maps, it does seem like there is catenery in place currently.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  50. vogelm10

    vogelm10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2020
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    This was back in 2007.....but yes that was the line I took to get to Germany. If you check google the stations have schedules listed.
     

Share This Page